Advisory Committee

A board of directors governs Emerging Leaders' Dialogues Canada Inc. The board meets 3 times each year and has 10 directors who provide a balance of diverse experiences, and genders, and are supported by an executive director. Four of the directors are alumni of The Duke of Edinburgh's leadership programs, and 3 founded ELD Canada in 2009.

Each program is guided by an advisory committee which is comprised of program alumni and regional representatives from a variety of sectors and organizations. 

Ben Almond


Ben leads the Canada Region for the Buildings & Infrastructure Americas Business Unit. Formerly, Ben was the Canadian Regional Managing Director for CH2M leading a team of 4,000 people across Canada and managing annual revenues of $1 billion. Prior to this role, Ben served as regional business group manager for CH2M's water business in Canada, as well as other leadership roles in CH2M's energy and industrial markets.

Before joining CH2M, Ben served in various program- and project-management posts with Suncor Energy and Imperial Oil. Ben was recently named one of Canada's Top 40 Leaders Under 40, which is a country-wide awards program that identifies outstanding young achievers in Canadian business, visionaries and innovators changing the way things are done. Ben B.S., Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of Manitoba. Ben is a Caribbean Canadian Emerging Leaders' Dialogues 2011 alum.

Paula Amos


Paula is of Hesquiaht and Squamish Nation descent, born and raised in the Nuu-chah-nulth territory on Vancouver Island. She has worked in leadership roles in the tourism industry for 20+ years. She has worked for the Indigenous Tourism Association of BC for the past 17 years and has been part of the industry's growth and success by driving results with strategies and marketing that work. Her extensive business development experience includes business planning, market research and market plans for Indigenous communities and businesses in every corner of the province.

She sat on the steering committee for the groundbreaking Blueprint Strategy for Aboriginal tourism in British Columbia. The Blueprint was the catalyst for developing Indigenous tourism in BC, and since its launch in 2006, the industry has grown by over 80 percent. Paula was also involved with the 2010 Aboriginal Tourism Working Group, in partnership with the 2010 Bid Corporation. Paula is an alum of the 2017 Emerging Leaders for Sustainable Community Development program.

Christina Clarke

Chief Executive, Songhees Nation Economic Development Corporation

Christina has been serving the Nation for four years in her current position, and a further 22 years in other professional capacities.Her experience includes First Nations governance, negotiations, law development and community engagement.

Christina's work guides the Songhees Nation in areas of finance and future economic development. She has been instrumental in developing a new philosophy toward business, reinvesting in youth, and how their innovative Wellness Centre has ushered in a new era of economic growth. She regularly consults on implementation of the First Nations Fiscal Management Act and economics.

Christina is a board member of the South Island Prosperity Partnership and Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce.

The Honourable Mary Collins, PC

President of the BC Association of Police Boards

Mary Collins, PC, is a former Associate Minister of National Defence, Minister for the Status of Women, Minister of Western Economic Diversification and Minister of State for the Environment. 

Collins was President of the BC Health Association. She served as an honorary co-chair of the women's campaign school of the Canadian Women Voters Congress, and as a consultant in promoting women's political development in Vietnam and Ukraine. She then spent five years in Russia working on a health reform project in Chuvashia and for the World Health Organization in Moscow. Mary was a Director of Emerging Leaders' Dialogues Canada. 

Mary currently serves as a member of the Saanich Police Board and is the President of the BC Association of Police Boards. She also has received the Queen's Jubilee Award.